Award Winning Books

Caldecott Medal–Winners and Honors in children’s picture books.

Newbery Medal–Winners and Honors in Middle Grade to Young Adult fiction books.

Additional children and teen book awards can be found here.

The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award, Bluestem Book Award, and Monarch Book Award,  Abraham Lincoln Award are all children’s choice award programs in Illinois.

The Monarch Award is the Illinois Children’s Choice book award for students in grades K-3 sponsored by the Illinois State Library Media Association. The Monarch symbolizes the growth, change, and freedom becoming a reader brings. The monarch butterfly is also the state insect. Master Lists.

The Bluestem Readers Choice Award sponsored by the Illinois State Library Media Association is designed for students in grades 3-5. Named in honor of Big Bluestem which is the state prairie grass, each yearly list of 20 nominees include both timeless classics and current titles. Master Lists.

The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award (RCYRBA) is a program sponsored by the Illinois Association of Teachers of English, the Illinois Reading Council, and the Illinois School Library Media Association. The program is named after children’s author Rebecca Caudill, who lived and worked in Urbana, Illinois. Books honored by this award are selected by a popular vote taken of students between grades 4-8 in the State of Illinois. Master Lists.

The Abraham Lincoln Award is awarded annually to the author of the book voted as most outstanding by participating students in grades nine through twelve in Illinois. The award is named for Abraham Lincoln, one of Illinois’ most famous residents and himself an avid reader and noted author. The award is sponsored by the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA).The Abraham Lincoln Award is designed to encourage high school students to read for personal satisfaction and become familiar with authors of young adult and adult books. Master Lists.